Welcome to Dan Winter's cottage
This historic cottage, which dates back to the early 1700's, consists of living quarters, spirit store and weaver's cottage with a full working loom. It is believed to be the longest thatched cottage in Ireland.
The cottage situated at the Diamond Crossroads is now a listed building and experts on historic buildings have confirmed that the cottage, built from mud, dates back to the 1700s.
The Battle of the Diamond
Dan Winter's home at the Diamond Crossroads was the focal point of an attack on the 21st September 1795, known as the Battle of the Diamond. During the battle an organisation known as the defenders attacked the house, ransacking the building, and setting the thatched roof on fire.
Significantly when work to restore the cottage was proceeding, charred rafters were exposed and carbon dating confirmed that these dated back to around the time when the cottage was attacked.
The cottage is significant for it was at a spring well opposite,in the aftermath of the battle, that the victors pledged to form a society for their mutual protection. This in turn led to the formation of a society now known as the Orange Order. The Order was officially formed in Sloan's Inn Loughgall that very same evening.
The cottage has since been restored and was officially reopened in September 2000. Visitors to the cottage will be able to see where Dan and his son stood to protect their hearth and home and where they made their escape to the hills from the rear of the house.
Weaving & Spinning
One of the main attractions of the cottage is the original weaving loom, which dates back approximately 200 years. It has been restored to it's original condition and is now in full working order. Visitors are welcome to view the loom in action and are invited to experience at first hand the old ancient craft of weaving and spinning.